Classical Guitar Alive
Station List
PLay Lists
Support FCGA

May 12, 2008 "Music for Four/Los Romeros Interview"
<Listen To Preview> <Listen Online Now>

Dispelling the notion that the classical guitar is mainly a solo instrument, this week's edition of Classical Guitar Alive! features music for four- a quartet of guitarists, a string trio with guitar, a concerto for 4 guitars and orchestra, and a chamber work for guitar duo and flute and cello. Also featured is a 1995 interview with Los Romeros.

The program begins with the San Francisco Guitar Quartet's arrangement of Boccherini's Introduction and Fandango, originally composed for guitar and string quartet.

Although Francois de Fossa (1775-1849) chose a military career over a career in music, he is one of the most important guitarists of the 19th Century. He played an important role in preserving Boccherini's Guitar Quintets, and translated the work of Aguado. He was also a talented composer in his own right. His three quartets for guitar and string trio are among the finest examples of guitar chamber music of the Classical/Early Romantic Era.

The first quartet of guitarists to gain international prominence was Los Romeros, consisting of patriarch Celedonio Romero (1913-1996) and his sons Celin, Pepe, and Angel. Joaquin Rodrigo dedicated three of his five guitar concertos to members of the Romero family, including his "Concierto Andaluz" for four guitars and orchestra in 1967. In this 1995 interview with Los Romeros, the group speaks about how the quartet began.

Contemporary Bulgarian guitarist-composer Atanas Ourkouzounov is a competition-winning performer, but is also gaining prominence for his compositions. His Divertimento for two guitars, flute, and cello is representative of his appealing and exuberant style.

Public Rado Satellite System uplink:
Wednesday, May 12, 2008 at 1300 Eastern Time digital stereo channel: A68.1

Program ID# 08-D65-00020
Title: Music for Four/Los Romeros Interview
Total length: 58:53

In Cue: MUSIC IN "Hello and welcome to.."
Out Cue: MUSIC IN "...another edition of Classical Guitar Alive!"
Program Length: 58:53


Bizet: Carmen Suite: Prelude
Los Romeros (Philips 412-609)


Boccherini: Intro and Fandango
San Francisco Guitar Quartet
(SFGQ 2001)

de Fossa: Guitar Quartet No. 1 in D
Simon Wynberg, guitar
Gabrieli String Trio
(MHS 512927)

Interview: Los Romeros:
"I think Los Romeros began the day my father and mother met... ...come out playing it."

Rodrigo: Concierto Andaluz
Los Romeros Guitar Quartet
Acad. St. Martin-in-the-Fields
Neville Marriner, conductor
(Philips 400-024)

Ourkouzounov: Divertimento
Ensemble Ourkouzounov
(KLE 2003)


Home | News | About | Tony Morris | Station List | Play Lists | Interviews | Events
Photos | Multimedia | Contact | Friends of CGA | Support FCGA | Links