Classical Guitar Alive
Station List
PLay Lists
Support FCGA

Help continue to bring Classical Guitar Alive to a world-wide audience with your tax-deductible contribution.

November 4, 2009 "Music for Three/Katona Twins Interview"
<Listen To Preview>

Dispelling the notion that the classical guitar is mainly a solo instrument, this week's edition of Classical Guitar Alive! features music for three- a guitar trio, guitar duos plus cello, and a mixed ensemble of flute, violin and guitar. Also featured is an interview with twin brother guitarists Peter and Zoltan Katona from Hungary.

The program begins with a guitar trio arrangement of 8 Easy Pieces for piano by Igor Stravinsky, performed by Le Trio de Cologne, which is guitarists Laura Young, Pablo Marquez, and Zoran Dukic.

In an interview with twin brothers Peter and Zoltan Katona, the guitar duo discusses the benefit of playing with other non-guitarist instrumentalists, and the benefits of playing with cello had on their musicianship. The Katona Duo is joined by cellist Liwei Qin in Handel's Trio Sonata in d minor, op. 2, No. 5.

Contemporary Estonian composer Rene Eespere's (b. 1953) piece "Trivium" for flute, violin, and guitar has emerged as a stealth "hit" of recent contemporary music. The piece is performed by Camerata Tallinn, flutist Jan Oun, the late Ulrika Kristian (d. Jan. 1, 1998), violin, and guitarist Heiki Matlik.

Contemporary Italian composer Carlo Domeniconi is best known for his Turkish-influenced solo guitar piece "Koyunbaba". However his "Juegos de Viento" (Games of the Wind) for three guitars has a more Hispanic flavor.

The program concludes with a live performance by cellist Yo-Yo Ma and the Assad Guitar Duo of the final two movements of Astor Piazzolla's "Tango Suite". Originally composed for the Assad Guitar Duo alone, Sergio Assad composed a seamless cello line specifically for their collaboration with Yo-Yo Ma.

Public Rado Satellite System uplink:
Wednesday, November 4, 2009 at 1300 Eastern Time digital stereo channel: A68.1

Program ID# 09-D65-00044
Title: Music for Three/Katona Twins Interview
Total length: 58:57

In Cue: MUSIC IN "Hello and welcome to.."
Out Cue: MUSIC IN "...another edition of Classical Guitar Alive!"
Program Length: 58:57


Bizet: Carmen Suite: Prelude
Los Romeros (Philips 412-609)


Stravinsky: Eight Easy Pieces
Trio de Cologne
(GHA 126.041)

Interview: Peter & Zoltan Katona:
"I think itŐs a nice challenge and change to play with other instruments... ... same articulation."

Handel: Trio Sonata, op.2, No. 5
Katona Twins Guitar Duo
Liwei Qin, cello
(Channel Classics 14298)

Rene Eespere: Trivium
Camerata Tallinn
(Finlandia 4509-95705)

Domeniconi: Juegos de Viento
Trio de Cologne
(GHA 126.041)

Piazzolla: Tango Suite
Yo-Yo Ma, cello
Assad Guitar Duo
(Sony 90970)


Home | News | About | Tony Morris | Station List | Play Lists | Interviews | Events
Photos | Multimedia | Contact | Friends of CGA | Support FCGA | Links